Category Archives: Historic Preservation Honors

November 1 deadline for Preserve America Presidential Awards nominations

The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) is accepting nominations for the 2009 Preserve America Presidential Awards to honor exemplary achievements in historic preservation and heritage tourism efforts involving natural and cultural historic resources.  The deadline for submitting nominations for the highest federal awards honoring historic preservation achievement is November 1, 2008.  The Preserve America Presidential Awards are part of an initiative established by President Bush that encourages and supports community efforts to preserve and enjoy our nation’s cultural and natural heritage assets.  Four Preserve America Presidential Awards are given each year.

The Preserve America Presidential Awards are given to organizations, businesses, and government entities for:

  • exemplary accomplishments in the sustainable use and preservation of cultural or natural heritage
  • demonstrated commitment to the protection and interpretation of America’s cultural or natural heritage assets.
  • the integration of these assets into contemporary community life, and combination of innovative, creative, and responsible approaches to showcasing historic resources in communities.

Click here for the nomination form and guidelines, as well as information on past winners and the overall Preserve America initiative.

Winners of the Arizona Governor’s Preservation Honor Awards named

[Source: Eric Vondy, State Historic Preservation Office] — The Arizona Preservation Foundation and the State Historic Preservation Office, in conjunction with the Governor’s Office, announced the winners of the 2008 Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Awards at a luncheon ceremony at the Sixth Annual Statewide Historic Preservation Partnership Conference, “Preservation on the Line.” Each year, 10 awards are given to individuals, businesses, organizations and projects in recognition of outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona’s prehistoric and historic patrimony. This year’s Honor Award winners are:

  • The Brunenkant Bakery Building, Florence
  • The Central Commercial Company Building, Kingman
  • The Curley School, Ajo (pictured)
  • The Franklin Police and Fire High School, Phoenix
  • The James A. Walsh Federal Building, Tucson
  • The McCullough-Price House Restoration, Chandler
  • Noel Stowe, Arizona State University
  • City of Glendale’s Department of Planning
  • The Santa Cruz County Courthouse, Nogales
  • The Tohono O’odham Nation Cultural Affairs Office

A panel of judges representing the fields of archaeology, architecture, history, and preservation, as well as a representative from the Governor’s Office, selected the winners from nominations submitted from across the state. In addition, the grand award winner was announced: The Curley School. The economic development project involved renovating the old seven-acre campus, with buildings dating back to 1919, into artisan lofts, providing 30 new live-work spaces for artists from around the country. The campus also includes an indoor-outdoor community space in the old school auditorium, and a computer lab and classroom space for an arts-based GED program. For more information about the project, click here.

“The purpose of these awards is to promote public awareness of historic preservation in Arizona,” said Greg Michael, president of the Arizona Preservation Foundation. “It is a pleasure to be able to recognize the contributions of those who work to promote historic preservation and who demonstrate excellence in design, execution and a devotion to community.” To view past Honor Award recipients, click here. For more information about the conference, Award Winners, the Arizona Preservation Foundation and its mission, click here. [Photo source of Curley School: International Sonoran Desert Alliance.]

ASU professor receives Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Award

[Source: Erica Velasco, ASU News] — Professor Noel Stowe is being honored for his outstanding achievements in preserving Arizona’s historic resources through the public history program he guides at Arizona State University. He received the 2008 Governor’s Heritage Preservation Honor Award and was recognized June 13 at the Arizona Statewide Historic Preservation Partnership Conference.

“Noel Stowe has worked tirelessly as a public historian to preserve historic documents, archives and monuments. His knowledge and commitment have helped Arizona preserve its heritage,” says Deborah Losse, dean of humanities in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. “The award is a well-deserved recognition of his contributions.” Stowe was nominated for the honor by William Collins, deputy state historic preservation officer. Collins, an ASU alumnus, earned a bachelor’s degree in history and economics in 1986, a master’s degree in economics in 1990 and a doctorate in history in 1999.

[Note: To read the full article, click here. Photo source: Tom Story, ASU News.]

Valley couple awarded Medal of Excellence

[Source: Peter Corbett, Arizona Republic] — A Valley couple who founded the Armenian Church and Cultural Center in Scottsdale was honored earlier this month by Arizona State University. ASU President Michael Crow presented Gregory and Emma Melikian with the University Medal of Excellence for their leadership and civic engagement.

The Melikians have supported ASU for more than three decades, including an endowment of the Melikian Center and its Critical Languages Institute. They have also invested in historic preservation of more than a dozen properties in Scottsdale, Tucson and Phoenix, including the San Carlos Hotel, downtown landmark since 1928. The Melikians were presented their medals at the ASU graduation ceremonies May 8. The University Medal of Excellence honors innovative leaders who have advanced awareness and action on issues that affect the well-being and positive development of their communities. [Photo source: ASU.]